VISION: To be one of the leading Air Navigation Service Providers (ANSP) in the world. MISSION: To provide safe, efficient, effective and economic Air Navigation Services to airspace users, through deployment of new technologies and dedicated workforce.


In the early formative years of ICAO, the Air Navigation Commission set up eleven (11) technical divisions upon which any sphere of human endevour in the Aviation Industry could be represented; among which is Aeronautical Communications.

The Aeronautical Telecommunications, which is one of the eleven technical divisions consider and recommend for adoption to the ICAO council international standards and recommended practices as enshrined in ICAO Annex 10 Vol. II, otherwise known as International Aeronautical Telecommunications Service.

The object of the International Telecommunication Service is to ensure the Telecommunications and Radio Aids to Air Navigation necessary for the safety regularity and efficiency of International Air Navigation.

ICAO Annex 10 Vol. II defined Telecommunication as “any transmission, emission or reception of signs, writing, images and sounds or intelligence of any nature by wire, radio, visual or other electromagnetic system”.

Aeronautical Telecommunications is mainly divided into four parts viz:

  • Aeronautical Fixed Service (AFS)
  • Aeronautical Mobile Service
  • Aeronautical Radio Navigation Service
  • Aeronautical Broadcasting Service


The objective of Aeronautical fixed Telecommunication service is to ensure that messages pertaining to Air navigation are transmitted and received speedily and accurately so as to enhance the safety, regularity and efficiency of air navigation.  The general procedures for the international Aeronautical Telecommunication Services are contained in the third chapter of Annex 10 Volume 2 of the international Civil Aviation Organization.


This is an integrated worldwide system of aeronautical fixed circuits provided as part of the Aeronautical fixed service for the exchange of communication and/or digital data between the aeronautical stations having the same or compatible communications characteristics.

This is the means through which aeronautical messages necessary for the safety, efficiency and regularity of air navigation are exchanged both locally and internationally.

In Nigeria, there are two (2) main AFTN Communications centres.  These are Aeronautical Communications centres located at the Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano and Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos.

Other Aeronautical Fixed Stations are located in almost all the functional Airports in Nigeria such includes the following:-

  • Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport, Abuja
  • Port-Harcourt International Airport
  • Margaret Ekpo International Airport, Calabar
  • Kaduna Airport
  • Akanu Ibiam Airport, Enugu
  • Yakubu Gowon Airport, Jos
  • Benin Airport
  • Sultan Abubakar III Airport, Sokoto
  • Maiduguri Airport
  • Ibadan  Airport
  • Yola   Airport
  • Ilorin   Airport
  • Minna  Airport
  • Zaria  Airport
  • Akure  Airport
  • Sam Mbakwe Airport Owerri
  • Gombe Airport
  • Asaba Airport
  • Uyo Airport
  • Bauchi Airport
  • Markurdi Airport

 However, the scope of Aeronautical Communication in Nigeria is limited only to Aeronautical Fixed Service (AFS) which does not meet the basic ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs).


  • Determines the acceptability, or otherwise of any Aeronautical Message brought for transmission over the Aeronautical, Fixed Telecommunication Network.
  • Transmission and reception of Aeronautical Messages with the use of Radio Telephony Communication and Data Communication Systems in accordance with the necessary provisions in ICAO Annex 10 Vol. II
  • The Department is responsible for Aeronautical Fixed Telecommunications Services, which entails exchanging   all categories of messages, voice, digital and data  necessary for the smooth, efficient, safe, regular and economical operation of air navigation services among the Airports within Nigeria and between Nigeria and other ICAO contracting states. It also formulates policies in respect of Aeronautical Telecommunication services and ensures implementation of policy matters through directives to the field offices.    
  • Maintains close liaison with Aeronautical Telecommunications Services of other contracting states on matters concerning network availability,  continuity, integrity and efficiency.
  • Computes and forwards monthly circuit to ICAO Regional office in Dakar.
  • Ensures availability and performance reports on all NAMA networks, including other states that have predetermined circuit responsibility.
  • The Department also meets NCAA-AFTN Statistical Requirements on monthly, quarterly and yearly basis with a view to assessing equipment performance, availability, serviceability of AFTN Operations between Nigeria and her adjacent Flight Information Regions (FIRs).
  • Furthermore, the Department ensures that the routing Directory of the country’s Communications Centres and those of the adjacent Centres are in strict agreement and in accordance with predetermined circuit responsibility and routing list for all categories of AFTN Message.
  • Generates revenue for NAMA by charging class ‘B’ Messages brought for transmission over the AFTN.
 NAMA MD CALLS FOR ENHANCED INTER-FIR SYNERGY IN AFI REGION The Managing Director of the Nigerian Airspace Management Agency (NAMA) Capt. Fola Akinkuotu has advocated an enhanced synergy among Flight In


  ICT Department End of year 2016    courtesy call on the Lamido Adamawa, Barkindo Aliyu Mustapha who commende